Chidiebere Ezinwa takes over the chairmanship of Beta Glass Plc following the death of Ogunbanjo

The most important information

  • The Board of Beta Glass Plc has appointed Vitus Chidiebere Ezinwa as the Chairman following the death of Abimbola Ogunbanjo.
  • The Board also welcomed four new non-executive directors, while saying goodbye to three retiring members and thanking their contributions.
  • Ezinwa brings over 27 years of diverse global corporate experience, while new directors Efundoyin Akinyanju, Oyinkan Adewale, Serge Joris and Vassilis Kararizos bring a wealth of expertise from a variety of sectors.

The Management Board of Beta Glass Plc has announced the appointment of Mr. Vitus Chidiebere Ezinwa as the Chairman of the Management Board (due to the untimely death of the former Chairman of the Management Board, Abimbola Ogunbanjo.

Ogunbanjo died in a helicopter crash on February 9 in the US along with Access Holdings CEO Herbert Wigwe, Wigwe’s wife Chizoba and their son Chizzy on their way to Las Vegas for the Super Bowl.

According to the company’s notice to the Nigerian Exchange Limited, obtained by Nairametrics, the board also announced the appointment of four new non-executive directors.

The new appointments include Ms Efundoyin Akinyanju (Independent Non-Executive Director), Ms Oyinkan Adewale (Independent Non-Executive Director), Mr Serge Joris (Non-Executive Director) and Mr Vassilis Kararizos (Non-Executive). Executive director).

News continues after this ad

However, it was disclosed that Mr. Harry G. David, Mrs. Oluwaseun Abimisola Oni and Dr. Zulikat Wuraola Abiola resigned from their positions on the Board of Directors of the Company.

The Board expressed its deepest gratitude and appreciation for their invaluable contributions and exemplary service during their tenure.

“Their guidance and expertise have been instrumental in shaping Beta Glass. We say goodbye to them and wish them all the best in their future careers.

Concurrent with the resignations, the Board noted that at its meeting on May 9, 2024, it welcomes five outstanding professionals who will bring extensive experience and fresh perspectives to the Beta Glass family.”

Profile of Vitus Chidiebere Ezinwa

According to the Company’s statement signed by Managing Director/CEO Darren Bennett-Voci, Ezinwa is a seasoned business leader with over 27 years of experience in various global corporations in 15 African countries.

He currently serves as Managing Director and Chief Executive Officer of Grand Cereals Nigeria, a position he has held since July 2022. Prior to this role, he held significant positions at UAC of Nigeria, Tropical General Investments (TGI), Promasidor Africa, Coca-Cola Nigeria and Africa Equatorial and British American Tobacco West Africa Central.

In these roles, including Chief Operating Officer, Group HR Director, HR General Manager and HR Director, he has demonstrated his ability to lead business transformation and cultivate a high performance culture in renowned organizations.

His multi-faceted experience highlights his strategic vision and operational prowess in leadership and human resources management.

Profile of Mrs. Efundoyin Akinyanju

Akinyanju is a seasoned leader with over 30 years of diverse business experience and currently serves as a non-executive board member on multiple boards. As of 2019, Ms. Efundoyin Akinyanju is the Managing Director and Chief Executive Officer of IBILE Oil and Gas Corporation in Nigeria.

Prior to this position, Ms. Akinyanju co-founded DFD Smartech Construction, demonstrating her entrepreneurial spirit and strategic acumen.

Her extensive career includes significant roles at renowned companies such as Baker Hughes, where she served as Director for West Africa, and GE Oil & Gas, where she held the positions of CEO for West and Central Africa and CEO for Sub-Saharan Africa.

Profile of Ms. Oyinkan Adewale

Adewale has over 20 years of experience on the Management Board. She serves as a non-executive director at international and local financial institutions and her expertise includes working with leading various Board committees such as Finance & Strategy, Risk, Audit, Credit and Governance.

A leading and highly experienced banking sector finance expert, Ms. Oyinkan Adewale has a distinguished career.

Her long and successful career journey includes key roles in reputable organizations including Union Bank of Nigeria, where she served as Executive Director and Chief Financial Officer, making significant contributions to the Executive Committee and the Board of Directors. Previously, she held key positions at Ecobank Transnational, Oceanic Bank International and Renaissance Capital, demonstrating her expertise in finance, management and operations.

Profile of Mr. Serge Joris

Joris is the CEO of Frigoglass Group, a visionary business engineer with a computer science background, known for his innovative entrepreneurship and global leadership.

His professional journey began with founding the Track & Trace software platform, operating in thousands of manufacturing plants and supply chain facilities around the world.

The acquisition of the platform by Dover Corporation has enabled Mr. Joris to assume a variety of management and executive positions within the $7 billion global conglomerate, supporting the prospect of global leadership on all continents.

Pioneer of the Internet of Things (IoT) and product traceability. Joris’s career coincided with the Girbau Group, where he took over as CEO/President.

His ability to see challenges and address them uniquely allows him to optimally explore extraordinary opportunities. With an unwavering commitment to customer centricity, it drives profitable, value-driven growth, cementing its legacy as a transformation leader.

Profile of Mr. Vassilis Kararizos

Kararizos is the managing director and founder of 3 AXES. He is also a member of the Management Board of Frigoglass Group and part of the Tetrad Capital Partners team that is leading the transformation of Frigoglass Group. Mr. Kararizos brings extensive experience to the Board, having led equity research teams at financial institutions and hedge funds such as Eurobank, Proton Bank, Investment Bank of Greece and Icon Fund.

He actively cooperates and carries out orders in various sectors, including energy, health, environment, general industry, specialized construction, hotel industry and real estate.

The appointments of the five new Directors are subject to ratification by the Company’s shareholders at the next Annual General Meeting on June 26, 2024.